Four new EU countries announce support for reaching net zero emissions by 2050

Climate action

On 17 and 18 June, four new EU countries, namely Bulgaria, Hungary, Ireland and Slovakia announced their support for the net zero emissions by 2050 goal, increasing the total number of EU countries in favour to 22. With three new CEE countries on board, the EU is much closer to reaching an agreement on this at this week’s European Council.

At the moment, at least 22 EU countries vocally support an agreement on achieving net zero emissions by 2050. This includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK [1].

Four countries joined this alliance in the last two days. Ireland’s climate plan launched on 17 June states that the government supports the adoption of the net zero target by 2050 at EU level. On 18 June, representatives of Hungarian, Slovak and Bulgarian governments were quoted by the media stating their support.

In reaction to these developments, Wendel Trio, Director of CAN Europe said:

“With three new CEE countries on board, we are one giant leap closer to an agreement on achieving net zero emissions by 2050 at this week’s European Council. Poland is losing its traditional allies from the Visegrad group and is at the moment the only country still advocating for postponing the decision. Instead of trying to protect its coal industry, Poland should opt for more climate action, protecting its citizens from the climate crisis and reaping the benefits of an innovative and modern economy. The next crucial step will be to agree on a plan to substantially increase the EU’s 2030 targets, as it is emission cuts by 2030 that will make or break the EU’s response to the climate crisis.”


Ania Drazkiewicz, CAN Europe Head of Communications,, +32 494 525 738


[1] Belgium, Denmark, France, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden have signed the Non paper on Climate for the future of Europe:

Cyprus, Greece, Malta and Italy have signed the Valetta declaration:

The UK and Finland have committed to achieving net zero emissions at the national level (by 2050 and 2035, respectively). Germany and Slovenia have made public statements in support of achieving net zero emissions by 2050. Support for the net zero by 2050 target is also part of the Austrian government’s position from April.

[2] Media briefing: the battle over the EU’s climate ambition:

[3] U.N. Secretary-General António Guterres letter:

Climate Action Network (CAN) Europe is Europe’s leading NGO coalition fighting dangerous climate change. With over 160 member organisations from 35 European countries, representing over 1.700 NGOs and more than 47 million citizens, CAN Europe promotes sustainable climate, energy and development policies throughout Europe.


Press release

Leading Environment and Climate Organisations Score European Parliament’s 2019-2024 Performance ​

New in-depth data research from five leading climate and environment organisations reveals that only a minority of MEPs during the 2019 – 2024 mandate acted to protect Europe’s climate, nature and air quality. The majority of MEPs acted instead as either procrastinators or prehistoric thinkers, delaying real action with patchy and inconsistent voting records, or worse, completely failing to rise to the challenge of the crises Europe is facing.

Read More »